Health Science Librarians of Illinois

Serving Illinois Health Information Professionals

Officers and Committees

View past officers


  • President (Nov 2020-2022)

    Cynthia Reynolds
    University of Illinois at Chicago
    Crawford Library of the Health Sciences
    1601 Parkview Ave.Rockford, IL 61107
    (815) 395-5658
    cmreynol (at) uic (dot) edu

  • Past President (2020-2021)

    Royden Jones
    304 Macallen Lake Rd.
    Carlock, IL 61725-9032

  • Secretary (2019-2021)

    JJ Pionke
    Applied Health Science Librarian
    University Of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
    SSHEL, 450M Main Library, 1408 W Gregory Dr, M/C 522
    Urbana, IL 61801
    pionke (at) illinois (dot) edu

  • Treasurer (Interim 2021)

    Laura Wimmer
    Regional Medical Librarian Northwest Region
    AMITA Health Resurrection Medical Center
    Chicago, IL


HSLI Liason to the Greater Midwest Region

Melissa Hudak (appointed 2020)
OSF Saint Francis Library & Resource Center
530 NE Glen OakPeoria, IL 61637
Phone: (309) 655-2268
melissa (dot) a (dot) hudak (at) osfhealthcare (dot) org

Illinois State Representative on the Health Sciences Libraries Focus Group (organized by the Region 6 NNLM)

Eleanor Truex (2017)

Midwest Chapter Liaison

Ramune Kubilius
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Galter Health Sciences Library
303 East Chicago AvenueChicago, IL 60611-3008
Phone: (312) 503-1912
Fax: (312) 503-1204
r-kubilius (at) northwestern (dot) edu



Maintains the archives of HSLI, and shall send archival materials for storage to the University of Illinois Archives Library, Champaign-Urbana.

Chair: Miranda Shake (2010)
Lakeview College of Nursing Library
903 North Logan Ave.
Danville, IL 61832
Phone 217-709-0927
Fax 217-709-0955
mshake (at) lakeviewcol (dot) edu


Reviews the Bylaws every two years and make recommendations to the membership. The Chair of the Bylaws Committee shall serve as Parliamentarian of the organization.

Molly Horio
OSF Saint Francis Medical Center Library & Resource Center
530 NE Glen OakPeoria, IL 61637
Phone 309-655-2269
Fax 309-655-6997
molly.a.horio (at) osfhealthcare (dot) org

Helen Knoll Jira Scholarship Endowment Ad Hoc Committee

Peg Burnette
Stacey Knight-Davis
Geoff Pettys

Conference Committee

Plans the annual meeting

Statewide Conference Planning Committee Guidelines


Fosters awareness of the progress of and the implications for state and federal legislation as they relate to health sciences librarianship. The Committee may submit recommendations for a legislative platform to the membership, and may recommend individual or group actions, as appropriate.

Co-Chair: Kirstin Duffin
Eastern Illinois University
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920

Co-Chair: Carmen Howard
Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria One Illini Drive, P.O. Box 1649
Peoria, IL 61656

Marketing and Recruitment

Liesl Cottrell
Resurrection University
1431 N. Claremont Ave
Chicago, IL 60622


Responsible for membership development and renewal, maintaining a membership directory, and maintaining a list of life members.

Chair: Royden Jones
304 Macallen Lake Rd.
Carlock, IL 61725-9032


Prepares the HSLI Newsletter

Co-Editor: Eric Edwards
Illinois State Library
Gwendolyn Brooks Building
300 S. 2nd Street
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1796
EEdwards (at) ilsos(dot) net

Co-Editor: Joyce Pallinger
Aurora University
Phillips Library
347 S. Gladstone Ave.
Aurora, IL 60506

Nominating and Elections Committee

Prepares the slate of candidates for the annual election of HSLI officers. The Committee shall also conduct the election.

Chair: Elizabeth Sterner
Governors State UniversityUniversity Library
1 University Parkway
University Park, IL 60484
Phone: (708) 235-7517
esterner (at) govst (dot) edu

Web Site

Maintains the HSLI web site and electronic communications.

Webmaster: Stacey Knight-Davis
Eastern Illinois University
Booth Library
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
slknight (at) eiu (dot) edu

Listserv Moderator: Linda Feinberg
Evanston Hospital
Webster Library
2650 Ridge Ave.
Evanston, IL 60201
(847) 570-2651
lfeinberg (at) northshore (dot) org